Grumblemouse Remembers

August 24, 2006 at 1:46 pm (Blogs, chicken noodle soup, Classics, Grumble Grumble, Songs)

So I went to buy a BMX today from some Japanese dude in Hackney – its silver and says Freespirit on it. I headed over to Dalston to grab a lock and as I came out of the shop I realised that I was standing across from none other than THE Dalston Oxfam Shop. Now I’ve been checking that blog for a while now, so I popped in and checked out the CDs (there’s no way I’m copying tapes onto my laptop) and grabbed a couple of nice treats. First up is X-RAY CD2 – X-Ray was a magazine owned by XFM I think and the best and maybe only good thing about the magazine was that it came with a free CD and this one was from the March 2003 issue.

Simian – Never Be Alone (XFM Session)

Interpol – Leif Erikson

Then I came across Rebirth Of Cool Phive which was a compilation series in the nineties (this one from 95) that had all sorts of jazz beat flavors and volume Phive was definatley the best – a very good find for £1.

Jhelisa – Friendly Pressure

Massive Attack – Karmacoma (Portishead Experience)

Kruder & Dorfmeister – Deep Shit Parts 1 & 2

Tricky – Hell Is Round The Corner

Portishead – Revenge Of The Number

Bomb The Bass ft. Justin Warfield – Bug Powder Dust (La Funk Mob Remix)

Paul Weller – Kosmos (Lynch Mob Bonus Beats)

MC Solaar – Nouveau Western

You can cop it from amazon here

So I’m happy today as I have a new bike and also today is my first day on the Hype Machine. I’ve been thinking a lot about blogging recently what with the whole Atlantic dissing Nah, Right? – I have discovered so much music from blogs and using Hypemachine – some stuff I’ve gone and bought and others I haven’t but considering that the average CD purchase per person per year in the UK is something like 2.5 I think I should have some sort of music industry Gold Card as I never spend less than £60 whener I buy tunes. I also have a friend who until he found blogs never really listened to or bought music and now he buys shitloads (and downloads) and DJs all over the place effectively promoting all of these artists. Anyway this rant is a little unformed so I’ll stop but everyone should read Recording Industry Vs The People – its by a couple of lawyers who are pissed at the way the RIAA has been bullying music lovers.Finally I was checking over at Pink Is The New Blog for my daily fix of celeb business and there was a link to one of Kevin Federline’s tunes – now in some interview he recently said “I’m the first white boy bringing the West Coast sound,” he says. “It’s gonna be huge. I’m doing shit not even Eminem does.” I thought I’d better check out the tune – see for youself – I mean of course it was gonna be wack but after reading that and hearing the tune – fucking speechless.

Kevin Federline – Lose Control

Should you have some spare time maybe go and harass him on myspace

3 Comments

  1. A said,

    WOW- i owned that Rebirth of Cool and thought, no KNEW, i was the coolest most progressive 18 year old in Boston.. ooohh i’ll download them all and recreate my late teen post acid jazz years

  2. grumblemouse said,

    Yeah when I fist got this album its was so cooool. The tunes are still pretty dope though.

  3. Callum Akers said,

    Hi,

    Any chance of getting the following track re-uploaded or e-mailed (320 kbps mp3 would be rad)….

    Bomb The Bass ft. Justin Warfield – Bug Powder Dust (La Funk Mob Remix)

    This remix is off the hook, and I have been unable to locate it anywhere.

    Cheers,
    Callum.

Leave a comment