I’ve Been To The Mountaintop

January 15, 2007 at 11:34 pm (Martin Luther King)

mlkmountaintopgo.jpg

Martin Luther King day today – I Am Fuel, You Are Friends has posted the ‘I Have A Dream’ speech from the Washinton march in 1963 – this is undoubtably his most famous speech but the one that regularly reduces me to tears is the ‘I’ve Been To The Mountaintop’ speech delivered from Memphis, Tenesee the day before his death. The part about the young girl who sends him a letter whilst he’s in hospital saying how glad she was that he didn’t sneeze (a newspaper article the day following his stabbing in NY mentioned that had he sneezed he would have drowned in his own blood) is so beautiful and powerful it gets me every time I hear it. I remember being in Paris last summer and just listening to it over and over again. Anyway have a listen.

Dr Martin Luther King Jr – I’ve Been To The Mountaintop (3rd April 1968)

1 Comment

  1. Amy. said,

    NPR did a story on this speech.. turns out he wasn’t even suppose to speak that night!
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=6854154

Leave a Reply

