Beep Beep

December 18, 2006 at 7:39 pm (Branding, Mini Cooper, Planning)

So the other Sunday I was walking along Notting Hill Gate and saw this………

I’d never really seen projections used on a proper campaign – I know Loaded did that big thing on the side of the Houses Of Parliament. When I got closer I realised that they had another one of the floor and then it got a little bit interesting………….

I was really excited about this last week when I first saw it but now I kinda think its rubbish. Yes its all very technical and clever how the car knows that you tapped on it and then goes up onto the screen but… It was a rainy Sunday night in Notting Hill. Notting Hill is populated by a large number of people who do not walk about in the rain. Those that are walking around are probably not that likely to stop and have a play – I did but then I’d had 4 pints and I like shiny interactive things BUT as soon as I stepped on the car again and the same car went up it was game over – I’d already seen that animation. Surely it wouldn’t be too hard to make sure that the same animation doesn’t go up 2wice in a row. I don’t know how long it was there for – I should check.

Here’s an idea – if Mini’s are meant to be all smart and sexy and cool – why not set aside a few hundred to act as executive / high end taxi’s for corporate xmas parties – yeah bad idea at xmas when everyone is super fucked but how cool would that be – they could only be available from certain events or something – they’re actually really spacious and a whole lot nicer than a cab – also it would feel like you’re getting a lift home – I dunno maybe not such a good idea but its got to be better than having stupid Foxtons branded Minis running all over the city – everyone hates Foxtons. Ooooh also, I remember reading about Grand Master Flash and those guys back in the day – they were getting pretty famous and used to ride around in limos. They only ever used 1 limo company and they always gave them mixtapes – everyone wanted to use those limos because they had the best tunes. Mini could do this and they’d have special CDs made for them by cool people (obviously people who are into Minis would probably like some Dido or Groove Armada) but if it was say, Fashion week you could really push the boat (or Mini) out.

1 Comment

  1. josh said,

    My next car is going to be a mini…good milage, cheaper than you think too. Who’d a thunk it?

Leave a Reply

