Sorry to hear…..

December 15, 2006 at 1:53 am (Ahmet Ertegun)

331_ertegun2web.jpg

Ahmet Ertegun, Founding Chairman of Atlantic Records, Dies at 83
Thursday December 14, 6:10 pm ET

 

NEW YORK, NY–(MARKET WIRE)–Dec 14, 2006 — Ahmet Ertegun, Founding
Chairman of Atlantic Records, passed away today in New York City at
the age of 83. He had been hospitalized with a head injury since
October 29, when he fell backstage at a Rolling Stones concert at the
Beacon Theatre in Manhattan.

 

Dr. Howard A. Riina, Mr. Ertegun’s neurosurgeon at New York
Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Cornell Medical Center, said, “Mr.
Ertegun suffered a severe brain injury after he fell in October. He
was in a coma and passed away today with his family at his bedside.”

 

Mr. Ertegun will be buried in a private ceremony in his native Turkey.
A memorial service will be conducted in New York after the New Year.

2 Comments

  1. grumblemouse said,

    just got to say I’m gutted

  2. Cecilia Bros said,

    A personal note – I’ve known Ahmet over fifty-five years. He has been a true friend until now. We kept in touch from time to time, he calling me from his limo. One thing that I remeber, when in New York fofties we were going to Carnegie Hall to a concert. I made a comment to him that how could he release music like “The little polka dot bikini” and such. He replied to me “How do you think we can go to Carnegie Hall to a concert”. Later he sent me a whole box of new records by The Iron Butterfly. My daughter was very pleased with them. His passing fills me with sadness and I can only say a prayer on his behalf for I know we will meet in a better world, where I’m sure he will control the heavenly choir.

Leave a Reply

