You Never Even Say Hello!

December 9, 2006 at 3:28 pm (Blogs, Branding, Grumble Grumble, Grumblemouse, MP3 Blog)

lovehaight.jpg

I’ve been meaning to have this little chat for a while but as usual I kinda just swept it under the carpet and left it but today we shall address it. Why does no one ever comment? I know some people do and thank you for commenting – its very rewarding. I guess at the moment I spend a disproportionate amount of time on my sofa, laptop on lap, tap tapping away but it can be hella lonely writing all this stuff, seeing all the stats about how many people come and visit but then having an empty comments box. Do you care that I’m writing this blog? Did you like the tune that you downloaded last Thursday?

 

Anyway I’ve decided that until I get 20 comments on this post then I’m not writing anymore – to help you think of something to say I’m considering starting a new blog about branding, music tech stuff and general marketingy things – have you found any of the articles I’ve posted about helpful or interesting? I’m not doing this blog to make new friends but it would be nice if people said hey or thank you or ‘eh yo Grumblemouse why don’t you check this out?’

 

So there – comment or the Stupid Hat gets it!

16 Comments

  1. cesar said,

    it’s not the # of comments. it’s the motion of the ocean. don’t go

  2. shane said,

    Dude, I know what you mean. I have thousands of people on my site a day and I’m lucky to get one comment a day really. I don’t know. I think it’s just that unless you have something that spurs debate and opinion, then you won’t hear back. People are too quick to just move to the next page or site. I think it’s also tougher with an MP3 blog because typically most folk just grab the tracks and go… It’s so saturated now.

  3. lynton said,

    You couldn’t stop if u wanted to. How the hell do you go from having some tangible presence of those opinions that make you – YOU – in the webspacethingy and then just cut it off? Where do those opinions, insights and rants go? Second Life and mySpace have only gathered so much steam because people just gotta reach out to others to confirm that they exist in the online world. Sure, no comments on your blog can make you feel that the bloke on the corner with a cardboard sign muttering away – but at least you have something to say. Hey, I comment on blogs because I need dialogue with crew who are on a similar tip; underlying it all is that same social imperative – CONNECT!
    Please start your marketing/tech/brand blog – as I have mentioned in past comments on your blog, I am working in this space and I am keen to hear what you may be thinking (especially on the web 2.0 SecondLife wave). You may find people are more willing to participate if the transaction is based on ideas rather than the candy-like lure of a hot mp3. But even if you end up getting minimal comments – don’t stop – its those people that can get their ideas into words and those words to other people, by whatever means, that shape the thoughts and ideas to come.

  4. saffron said,

    only 16 more to go
    i read this. it was ok.

  5. Amy said,

    ‘If instead of seeking approval, you ask, ‘What’s wrong with it? How can I make it better?’, you are more likely to get a truthful, critical answer. You may even get an impreovement on your idea” -Paul Arden

  6. Adrian Lai said,

    Expanding on what Shane said, MP3 blogs naturally cater to freeloaders. In order to encourage the conversation and comments, they need to do more. By writing your ideas on marketing,brands and relating it back to your existing music theme, you could find your own niche, and provide your readers w/ ideas they can think about and respond to, instead of simply downloading and leaving.

    Looking forward to this blog staying alive, and its next evolution!

  7. grumblemouse said,

    Aw thanks guys – I guess I can respond in the comments as that doesn’t really count as blogging. One of the reasons that I posted this post was because a while ago a blog I used to read gave up because no one commented and its exactly that – being an MP3 blog its like being an apple pie on the window sill blog – people just want – however if you challenge them, offer up ideas and promote or at least try and get people to interact then it will be a lot more fun – I’ve got some really good stuff to post but I’m gonna wait for a few more comments before I get it all up there.

    Thanks to those who have commented so far.

  8. grumblemouse said,

    arrrrrgh I need to blog – just been and checked LonelyGirl15 – dayum – new video this morning and there’s now 1100 comments on the video – fuck – imagine!!!!!

  9. tubby dee said,

    droog
    I read and cop this bizzle on the regular, and get a lot out of it-you’ve introduced me to some great music and I loved the VICE party rant. The marketing blog sounds cool-why not run them as one?
    ya boy
    Lil\’ P

  10. tomcat said,

    I’m afraid of losing my obscurity. Genuineness only thrives in the dark. Like celery.
    Aldous Huxley.

    every day bro! keep it up PLEASE

  11. B Holmes said,

    Hey at least you get some comments and even if no one commented loads of people see your site and are enriched by its content.

    Acheivement is it’s own reward, pride obscures it.

  12. josh said,

    the last thing the internet needs is another dead blog….my blog almost died…that sucked.

  13. duncan said,

    the youtube video you just posted was rally powerful. i read your blog via rss so rarely do i reach the actual site to comment — maybe that accounts for the comment/view disparity. keep on keepin on!

  14. tom_drunk said,

    hello!

  15. sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  16. celebrity fuck you said,

    Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! xszut and 4233twnhrrpmeg and 4790 : Great!

Leave a Reply

