Lonelygirl, Secondlife and why I can’t burn my brands.

December 5, 2006 at 10:16 pm (Branding, Little Loca, LonelyGirl15, Ninja Tune, Second Life, The Hill88)

LonelyGirl15

So I’ve been checking this whole LonelyGirl15 thing for a while now and whilst its an amazing concept – multiple characters posting video blogs to create a whole story, letting people who comment on the videos effect the script line there are certain fundamental flaws – whilst towards the beginning of the ‘saga’ it was all quite believeable it has all gotten a bit farcical – a 16 year old runs away from home when her parents are kidnapped by some weird cult and all she does is video blog from a motel about her date with a handpuppet! Seriously there’s more but I won’t go into it just yet – defo check out the article in WIRED here and also the NY Times article here. To be honest though I’m kinda happier watching Little Loca (who is also not a real video blogger) or The Hill88 who is perhaps the best of them all and actually is just some girl from Australia talking to camera.

So Ninja Tune have set up a music video channel in Second Life – its called Ninja TV – there’s a little article on it here. I pitched a similar thing to the magazine that I had my interview with the other day – fingers crossed and all that. There’s an article on CNN about Second Life that I quoted in my interview – its a pretty good article and mentions A Loft hotels who recently opened the first virtual hotel in order to test run the design and functionality of the hotel – oh and of course to build some press hype. Read the article here

In other news I’ve been checking out some of the podcasts on Life In The Middle – its a blog written by a guy called Paul Colman who is the UK brand manager at Yakult (my bacterial brand of choice) and he interviews a bunch of people in the advertising / marketing world – today I listened to an interview with the head of creative at Innocent (the smoothie company) – interesting stuff – you can get it here. Neil Borman chatted about the Innocent sponsored Fruitstock a while ago although I can’t quite remember what he said however you have to marvel at the power of marketing, I never drink Innocent but today after the gym I bought some – it was very nice although I still find the stories about Monkey’s a little silly.

1 Comment

  1. Melvin said,

    watz good girl u shoudnt be lonely u look good ass girl u made me mad when u said that u dont got nobody holla back at me so that we can talk im on http://www.tagged.com or e-mai at mlp_datboy@yahoo.com so we can talk ok sexy

Leave a Reply

