Just a thought

December 5, 2006 at 1:25 am (Jungle, Metal, Ragga, Shoreditch, Skindred)

skindred.jpgSo tonight I went to my first metal gig and it was really interesting. I quite liked the music  – 2 bands I saw, one was called Dub Trio and were a trio that played Dub Metal and the second were called Skindred and and they played Ragga Metal – all very odd but the thing that I found interesting was the amount of ‘uncool’ people – maybe they weren’t uncool but perhaps just badly dressed (I’m not talking about the people that looked ‘Metal’) – anyway it got me thinking about a conversation I’d had a while ago with someone from the NFT marketing department about the death of subculture, scenes and the underground because nowadays as soon as something exists or people hear about it  it gets co-opted and turned into the mainstream – yes I thought then but no I think now – certain scenes – take for instance Shoreditch or whatever exist alongside a bunch of other scenes such as the fashion scene who will deem something cool, then yada yada yada tipping point etc and something becomes mainstream. However if something exists and people don’t find it cool then it won’t become mainstream and you still have an ‘underground’ scene. I’m still riffing on this idea so feel free to shoot me down but Metal or at least Ragga Metal is not cool – therefore it won’t get reported about in mainstream media – therefore it still has its own sustainable subculture – kinda like Jungle – its still happens even though we all gave up on it years ago – hmm still riffing but I like this.

4 Comments

  1. Baby Jebus said,

    These bands have nothing to do with metal.

    Who ever told you they do, most likely the bands, are full of it.

  2. grumblemouse said,

    What are they then? I guess I just thought they were metal as they sounded like that to me – also I went with some guys from Metal Hammer so I just guessed – how would you describe them?

  3. keptblue said,

    baby jesus is a crumb.

    i say you submit your music links to my website eh:

    http://www.extlabs.com

    let’s connekt

  4. Alonzo said,

    Unquestionably consider that that you stated. Your favourite
    justification appeared to be at the net the easiest
    factor to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked at
    the same time as folks think about concerns that they
    plainly don’t know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest as well as outlined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

