Woody Women

November 23, 2006 at 5:03 pm (Alela Diane, folk, Mariee Sioux)

alela_m.jpgSo my friend Millie writes for a bunch of people including for Dazed Digital which is Dazed and Confused’s new website. Whilst browsing for stuff I came across a post by Millie about two female folk singers, Alela Diane and Mariee Sioux, that left her, and me since I’ve checked them out, spellbound. You should read what Mille has to say here as she’s a real writer and much better at describing the music than me.

Its funny, I never used to be into folky type stuff and for the past few years all of my friends have been heading off to all these folk festivals and now that LDN is awash with N** Rave and Ed Banger I just want to stay at home listening to quiet music – anyway enough chat – here’s some tunes – hope you like them as I’ve been buying a lot of this sort of stuff recently so there’s plenty more to follow.
Alela Diane – Rifle

Alela Diane – The Pirate’s Gospel

Mariee Sioux – Bravitzlana Rubakalva

Mariee Sioux – Burried In Teeth

Leave a Reply

