Wild Horses

November 17, 2006 at 3:57 pm (books, Classics, Crosby, Stills and Nash)

hotel-california-jacket.jpgSo I’m reading a book called Hotel California: Singer-songwriters and Cocaine Cowboys in the L.A. Canyons 1967-1976 by Barney Hoskyns – its all about Laurel Canyon in the 60’s and onwards. Its really interesting, Crosby, Stills and Nash before they all joined up with each other and Neil Young, Joni Mitchell and Gram Parsons – a young David Geffen just ruling things when he’s still in his 20’s. The fun thing about reading a book like this is that I don’t know much about the music so I’ve been buying up and downloading a bunch of the tunes that are mentioned in the book. So far the favorite song I’ve found is Wild Horses, written by the Stones but first released by Gram Parson’s Flying Burrito Brothers in 1970. I actually first heard this tune covered by Iron & Wine and Calexico last year but never realised where it came from.

The Flying Burrito Brothers – Wild Horses buy

The Rolling Stones – Wild Horses buy

Iron & Wine and Calexico – Wild Horses (live)

2 Comments

  1. irving said,

    Really interesting post 🙂 Thanks for the book tip and music.

    Peace and Blessings!

  2. girlfriend said,

    if you like this cover than you are going to like Jeremy Larson, I heard these two tracks on a mixed cd my friend made for me and I had to just mention how much I loved them both… http://www.myspace.com/jeremylarson.

Leave a Reply

