Sunday Blogging

October 8, 2006 at 8:31 pm (Blogs, Classics, Future Classic)

capricorns.jpgOne of my favorite bands is playing a couple of shows in LA today. The Capricorns make lo-fi casio electro punk or is it synth rock, anyway, they’re playing an instore at Sea Level Records in Echo Park and then they’re playing this evening at Mountain Bar. I love these girls so much.

The Capricorns – Pretty Girls

The Capricorns – The New Sound

bloggers.jpgAnyway I can’t go and see them as I’m in LDN and today I played at Bloggers Delight which was wicked – I didn’t hang around too much but I caught Bok Bok from Lower End Spasm and he played some good tunes. I’ve never checked his blog but if you go there now there a great video of some all lady grime tune featuring amongst others No Lay, Shortness, Fury and Lioness (who I think is mates with Bearman).

desert.jpgSo it would appear that James Lavelle is setting up a new label / brand called Surrender All. Its going to be a record label (releasing the 3rd UNKLE album produced by Chris Goss – QOTSA), a fashion label and a series of club nights. Its funny as I was only chatting to someone the other week about Lavelle and I was told that he was super skint and had been selling off all his toys. Anyway I’m excited about a new UNKLE album – I’ve really liked both of the previous ones and Never Never Land really hinted at some sort of desert business – I just checked the UNKLE site and the description given for the next album is ‘a collection of desert songs’ – sweet. Here’s my favorite non Lavelle desert song.

Mark Lanegan – Sleep With Me (Version)

3 Comments

  1. josh said,

    I saw Lavelle spin in LA a few weeks ago and it was all instrumental techno-ie house stuff. Not a single UNKLE track or even something I recognized….bummer.

  2. Brandy said,

    didn’t this blog use to be updated?

  3. grumblemouse said,

    yeah sorry for being lame – I’ve been going out in the evenings this week and I’ve been working in the day-time – will get some stuff up here

Leave a Reply

