Bloggers Against Beatdowns

September 28, 2006 at 1:21 pm (Classics, Future Classic, Grumble Grumble)

beat-down.jpgSo I was gonna post about some nice new scmindie bands today but I’m not gonna. Basically whilst walking home last night I got fucking jumped by a gang of 12 kids – I managed to escape with no more than a Bruce Lee kick to the head and a pretty scary chase down the rd – luckily I didn’t drop my ipod or phone but I guess what’s luckier is that the little bastards didn’t catch me – fucking 12 on 1! I’m not fucking Ghost Dog (which I watched again the other day and its soo good) Anyway here’s some nice music that has nothing whatsoever to do with beating people down or up.ghost-dog_7.jpg

Jimi Hendrix – 1983…(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)

The Guillemots – Sea Out

The Guillemots – Over The Stairs

‘Sup Magazine finally has distribution in the UK and to celebrate they’re having a party tonight at the The Old Queen’s Head in Islington – The Dolly Daggers play live and Radioclit nice up the dancefloor.

The Dolly Daggers – The Queen Of The 21st Century

So I’m really grateful to Neil Boorman AKA Mr Bonfire Of The Brands for re awakening my love / hate interest in branding – I just got my copy of The Savage Girl through the post and the first few chapters are amazing and you should read this article from NY Times all about the ‘Brand Underground’ featuring A-Ron from aNYthing – read here.

Troubled Minds have a dope line up for tomorrow night at 333 – Adventure Playground, 80s Matchbox B-Line Disaster DJ set and  Mickey Finn playing some old skool classics.

And last but by no means least Help The Jaded at the The Fly have Leo Minor’s debut UK show a week from today – this is not to be missed – Thursday 5th October.

Oh and I found this tune on my computer – its by Mama Lion, the lead singer Lynn Carey is the voice behind the Carrie Nations who feature in Beyond the Valley of the Dolls – the mp3 is a little fucked, its got some little skips in it but her voice is so amazing.

Mama Lion – Aint No Sunshine

1 Comment

  1. F-14 said,

    12 kid shakedowns suck the sweetbreads. Hope you’re cool though, glad they didn’t get the pod, makes you think about what happens if you suddenly lose ALL your music. Backups for me.

    T

Leave a Reply

