Karin Dreijer Andersson

July 26, 2006 at 4:15 pm (Classics, random, Songs)

The Thin White Duke remixes are so full on – its like he has every level turned up to 12 on the mixing des, everything has such presence. His mix of Roysopp’s ‘What Else Is There’ has been one of my favorite tunes for ages. Imagine my surprise when I pop mypod on and listen to the Ratatat remix of The Knife’s Mother’s Health tune to find out its the same singer. Upon further investigation I found this long ass Pitchfork review that bangs on about the way the vocals are recorded, so in protest to that and in honour of 75orless I’m gonna keep it brief. Karin is Swedish. So is her brother who is the other person in The Knife. She sounds a bit like a Swedish M.I.A for part of the Ratatat remix. I don’t know where the Hailey Wojcik tune came from but I love anything that has FUCK in the chorus. OK so here are some of my favorite songs with FUCK in the chorus. Daniel Cirera is Swedish and this song is just inspired. He’s playing LA at the beginning of August. Martha is the only Wainright that I ever got in to (with the exception of her mom’s song about left over mashed potato!) this is such an empassioned song – love it. Oh and then not to forget naughty little junkie Pete’s rant against the world. Aiii and I almost forgot the ultimate – this tune I first heard when smoking weed when I was a delinquent 12 year old and its STILL AMAZING. I tried to get into the original Bootsy version but nah.

Royksopp – What Else Is There (Thin White Duke Remix)

The Knife – We Share Our Mother’s Health (Ratatat Remix)

Hailey Wojcik – Fuck You (I Quit)

Daniel Cirera – Motherfucker Fake Vegetarian Ex Girlfriend

Martha Wainwright – Bloody Mother Fucking Asshole

Babyshambles – Fuck Forever

NWA – Rather Fuck With You

With half a braincell you should be able to purchase all of this out here or perhaps out there.

1 Comment

  1. josh said,

    Dude, no shout out for the Martha mp3?

Leave a Reply

