Wha Gwan

July 21, 2006 at 2:39 am (Classics, Songs, Summer Banger!!!)

So whilst diggin through boxes of CDs in my room I came across a mix CD of mine from a while ago. It was about 3 years old and I had no clue as to what was on there and when I put in my computer I was happily surprised to find an absolutely rare UK hip hop classic on there. I’d been searching for ‘Wha Blo’ on the tinternet recently and couldn’t find it anywhere – it was only ever a white label but its a certified classic. I’m not so down with UK hip hop, Taskforce never really did it for me with the exception of this 12″. The B-side was entitled ‘Graff The Bus Up’ and was over the beat from Pharoah Monch’s rub on your titties tune. About the same time this came out I happened upon a likely pair of MCs, Bad Manners and Sir Real. I really wanted to sign them to the label I was working for at the time but it never happened. Sir Real now tours with the Freestylers and I’ve never heard anything from Manners but ‘Wha..Who’ is amazing and if they’d’ve kept their game at that level they’d now be eclipsing most UK MCs. So my mate who had the Taskforce 12″ lives in Australia and so I instantly IM’d him to let him now I had a copy of the tune – cut to us banging on about tunes we used to play and he reminded me if the ultimate UK hip hop tune. Adam F was much more well known for his drum and bass productions, Circles in particular, but then he went away and made KOAS which was an OK album but featued the AMAZING ‘Smash Sumthin’ featuring Redman. Its got that mad operatic opening that reminds me of Nas’s ‘Hate Me Now’ but the beat is more Breath and Stop. Anyway the best bit about the tune is the shattering glass which sounds so clear you’d think the album was recorded to be played in a cinema. Anyway cop this shit as you won’t find it anywhere else.

Taskforce – Wha Blo?

Bad Manners ft Sir Real – Wha…Who

Adam F ft Redman – Smash Sumthin

You can purchase Taskforce stuff here and cop KAOS from CD Universe here

3 Comments

  1. excalibur said,

    very insightful read, thankyou.

  2. abdrahim said,

    ok

  3. abdrahim said,

    ca va sinon

Leave a Reply

